Day 17 ~ WOD-Crushing Menu

Today was a very busy day including a morning presentation, a huge checklist of items completed for work, a CrossFit WOD, numerous phone calls with our mechanic, the kids’ swim lessons, and an 80 minute trip to retrieve the car.  I did not actually cook anything today other than frying eggs, so I don’t have much to blog about.  Setting modesty aside momentarily, I did kind of crush today’s workout.  Perhaps I did something right with the foods I ate today.  I’m still reflecting on what exactly may have contributed to a successful CrossFit day– whether it was purely today’s food, coming in off of two rest days, or the extra food I ate over the weekend.  Whatever it was, it worked.  I got a new 3 rep max back squat PR (140#) and executed a strong performance in the MetCon, which was 6 rounds of 2 minute AMRAPs of 10 box jumps, 10 air squats, 10 kettlebell swings.   Out of about 100 people who did the WOD today, I ended up completing the 3rd highest amount of rounds (12 rounds plus 9 reps, using DII-20”/35#KB).  10 people completed 12 rounds or more.  I’ll have to try this combo of food again.  I do love quad-dominant workouts.

I awoke from a night of about 6 hours and 40 minutes of sleep.

Breakfast: 2 eggs fried over a chopped green onion and 2 pieces of Canadian bacon; 1 gala apple.

Lunch: About a half cup each of Hubby’s batch-cooked carne asada and pollo asada, about 1 cup of fajita veggies, and a half a small avocado.

Pre-Workout: 15 minutes before arriving at CrossFit, I had an unfrosted strawberry shortcake cupcake (mostly blanched almonds and honey)

http://www.againstallgrain.com/2012/08/27/strawberry-shortcake-cupcakes/

Post-Workout: 15 minutes after the workout, I had a “dirt” smoothie (3T hemp protein, 1 cup almond milk, 1/2 a banana, 5 frozen strawberries.)

Snack: A cup of plantain chips

Dinner: After picking up the car a few minutes before 6:00pm with a 35 minute drive ahead of us, we stopped at Chipotle for dinner.  Although it closely resembled lunch, dinner was a steak salad bowl with fajita veggies, salsa, and guac.

Leave a Reply

