Day 24 ~ When Dinner Fails, Make Dessert

Breakfast was the leftover Paleo Spirit porridge.  It was still delicious, but the chalet fantasy was lost somewhere between standing over the sink to eat it and my son putting his shoes on the wrong feet.

Image

Today I focused on curing my dehydration.  I made myself drink a half liter of water during the morning commute.  I made a goal of finishing another one before lunch.  Speaking of lunch, lunch was soup and a sandwich!  A sandwich doesn’t sound very Paleo, I know, but I assure you it was Paleo, and it was a masterpiece.  I call it Chicken BLTA.

On Sunday, we batched-cooked a bunch of boneless skinless chicken breasts so we could have these awesome delights for lunch all week.

Chicken BLTA

Preparing the Chicken:

To prepare them, first pour some olive oil in a small bowl.  Add salt, pepper, dried oregano, and dried rosemary to the oil.  Arrange the chicken breasts on a sheet pan.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Dip a basting brush in the seasoned oil and paint the chicken breasts until they are generously covered with the oil.  Bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes.  Cool and store the chicken breasts.

Assembling the Chicken BLTA:

Using a serrated knife, slice the chicken breast to make a top and bottom “bun.”  Put a leaf of romaine lettuce on the bottom “bun.”  Add 2 slices of bacon.  Top with tomato slices.  Arrange some avocado slices on top.  Season with salt if desired.  Add Dijon mustard to the top piece of chicken if desired.  Place the top piece of chicken on the top of the “sandwich.”  DE-LISH!!!

Image

Image

We had a lot of the No Pasta No Fagioli soup leftover from yesterday, so the intention was to have soup and a sandwich for lunch all week!  Conventional with a twist!

I kept chugging the water, and it not only helped keep me level-headed during the afternoon WOD, but it helped curb the afternoon snacks to just a small bowl of plantain chips and a small serving of dried apples.

Thankfully, I had eaten well throughout the day because when dinner rolled around and we dove into the Indian curry, it was a disappointment.  I hadn’t made it to Fresh and Easy to restock our stash of  Sukhi’s brand of curry paste we like.  http://sukhis.com/products/home-chef/classic-indian-curry-paste.php

I figured a similar brand available at our Ralph’s would do for simmering a pound of chicken thighs, an onion, a couple carrots, a bell pepper, and some butternut squash cubes.  I was wrong.

http://www.kitchensofindia.com/DE/Products-Main/Curry%20Pastes/Chicken%20Curry%20Paste

Image

This paste from Kitchens of India was bland, too watery, and just kind of icky.  I choked some of it down, but my poor husband basically abandoned his bowl after a few bites and came back to the table with a Larabar.  Rather than rummaging around to piece together another dinner, I just opted to expend my energy on producing a dessert.  Urban Poser’s Mexican Chocolate Coconut Macaroons saved the day.

http://www.againstallgrain.com/2012/11/03/guest-post-chocolate-macaroons/

I always seem to have the simple ingredients for this recipe in my freezer (coconut) and pantry (everything else!)  The recipe can be whipped together in a flash—seriously, within 10 minutes these will be in the oven.  The only dishes needed are two bowls, a measuring cup, a measuring spoon, and a stirring spoon, so very little mess.  Most importantly, they are friggin awesome, Paleo or not!  We ate them right off the pan.

Image

Leave a Reply

