Day 3 ~ My Body is Not a Garbage Disposal

My body is not a garbage disposal– that was my mantra a few times today.  My son brought a bunch of banana slices in a cup in the car on the way to school.  He had already had his breakfast, but as we were about to leave the house in our usual rush, he had asked for a banana.  I grabbed it off the counter and started for the door, but he dictated that he wanted it in slices.  Yes, I admit I am way too accommodating, but I am also notorious for running late.  I also have experienced far too many times what happens when a little boy does not eat enough.  The consequences are far greater for me if I don’t accommodate the hungry demands.  Those issues are another blog.

Anyways, back to the rush out the door.  We were cruising down the road, all was well, and I heard my son utter, “Here, Mom,” from the back seat and my right shoulder was tapped with his bowl of bananas.  He had taken 3 bites or so.  Fine.  Whatever.  Normally, my typical pattern would be to eat whatever I’m handed.  I certainly wouldn’t want banana stinking up my car (the excuse.)  I played a little mental game with myself as we continued our drive, but I made a conscious decision to not eat the banana.  Yes, it is healthy.  Yes, it is Paleo-approved.  However, part of what I wanted to work on during this experience was those bad habits.  My body is not a garbage disposal.  I had eaten breakfast already.  I was not hungry.  I didn’t have to throw away those banana slices.  I put a lid on the cup, and I ended up eating them after my afternoon workout when I normally take in a little protein and carbs to recover.  No wasted food.  I ate with intention.

I also tackled another incident when I picked up my son from school.  The class was celebrating one of the student’s birthday, and the teacher handed me the cupcake designated for my son at dismissal.  I had to carry and stare at the cupcake all the way to the car.  My son gave the frosting a few licks, and then I heard the familiar utterance, “Here, mom!”  That was a true test of my willpower.  Though again, I repeated the mantra “my body is not a garbage disposal,” and I made it.

Here are the meals and recipes from the day.

Breakfast-

Spinach Scallion Omelet

Wilt a handful of spinach and a chopped scallion in a skillet with a little oil.  Season with salt.  Whisk 1 egg plus one egg white in a bowl with 1 tablespoon of water.  Pour egg into the pan over the veggies.  Cover with a lid and cook until firm.

Spinach scallion omelette compressed

Lunch-

Hubby batch-cooked two four pound pork shoulders on Sunday so we would have lunches for the week.  He is comfortable in the kitchen and threw stuff together being the awesome, instinctual guy that he is.  When I cook carnitas, I use this recipe, and hubby’s carnitas were pretty much just like this.  He also sautéed three onions and three bell peppers with a couple chipotles, and seasoned them with oregano, cumin, garlic powder, chili powder, and salt.

Carnitas batch cooked compressed

Carnitas

http://mybigfatgrainfreelife.com/2011/10/carnitas-mexican-pulled-pork.html

Carnitas lunch compressed

Dinner-

Sticky Coconut Chicken with Steamed Broccoli

Recipe from Sunset Magazine
Chicken
http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=522896

Chili Glaze-
http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=523931

I made a few modifications to the chili glaze to make it Paleo.

  • 3/4 cup rice vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I used 1/4 cup honey)
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce (I used coconut aminos)http://www.coconutsecret.com/aminos2.html
  • 1 teaspoon hot chili flakes (I left these out so the kids would eat the chicken and broccoli without spicy red things on it!)
  • I added 1/4 cup of chicken broth
  • Sticky Chicken compressed
Leave a Reply

