Day 4 ~ Sticking to It

It was a productive and exhausting day.  Normally I would walk in the door on a day like that and scarf something bad as to reward myself and numb the worn-out, melt-into-a-chair feeling before attacking the dinner task.  However, I didn’t have the internal struggle today.  No hang-ups with chocolate chips, no hunger false positives.  I grabbed a banana (I was indeed hungry) to fuel myself and moved on.  That’s a nice step forward for me!  Now that dinner is over and the kids are in bed, I have since melted into the couch.

Today’s menu:

Breakfast-

Paleo Caprese Egg Sandwich (this time with spinach too!)

Fried Egg topped with sliced tomato, fresh spinach, and fresh basil leaves sandwiched between two slices of Paleo bread.

Image

Lunch-

Hubby’s batch-cooked carnitas with onions, peppers, and avocado.

See Day 3 for recipe and picture.

Dinner-

Stuffed Cabbage

This might need some explaining, and you’ve got to be a cabbage-lover!  For some reason over the weekend I was reminiscing about eating stuffed cabbage that my grandmother would make.  It’s probably been 20 years since I’ve had it.  I’ve never tried to make stuffed cabbage myself before, but I just couldn’t stop thinking about it.  I scoured some Paleo versions of stuffed cabbage recipes and thought about how to make that sweet/sour/tangy note in the sauce come alive.  It is not perfect, but it was quite tasty.  I used ground bison, which is definitely unconventional.  (Obviously buffalo never roamed Eastern Europe!) But, you can’t go wrong with a good quality free range meat.  I will have to make it again soon.

This is my rendition:

1 head of cabbage

For the meat mixture:

1 pound ground meat (I used bison but ground pork or lamb is more traditional)

¼ cup minced onion

1 tablespoon paprika (I just used grocery store paprika but a smoky one would be heavenly)

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 teaspoon dried marjoram

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

Salt & pepper

1 egg

For the sauce:

1 can of tomato sauce (8 oz)

1 can of diced tomatoes (14.5 oz)

2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon paprika

1 teaspoon ground mustard

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Salt & pepper

Fill a pot with a couple inches of water and set the steamer insert into it.  Put the whole head of cabbage into it, cover, and bring to a boil.  Steam for about 15 minutes.  (If you don’t have a steamer basket setup, you could just boil the cabbage.)  When tender and bright green, put the cabbage in an ice bath until cool enough to handle.

While the cabbage is cooking, mix the ingredients for the meat in a large bowl.

In a small bowl, mix the tomatoes and spices.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Spread a little sauce on the bottom of a 9×13 pan.  Carefully pull 8 cabbage leaves off of the head.  Scoring a square around the core makes this easier.  Hold one leaf in your hand and spoon in 1/8 of the meat mixture.  Fold the thicker end over the meat first, fold the sides in over the meat, and the roll to close the bundle.  Repeat until you’ve made 8 rolls.  Place the rolls in the pan.  Pour the sauce over the top.  Bake uncovered for 1 hour.

Image

Image

One thought on “Day 4 ~ Sticking to It

  1. Day 5 ~ There Are Thin Mints in My Freezer – No Excuses Paleo

Leave a Reply

