Day 10 ~ Newfound Clarity

After leaving visions of ice cream sandwiches and grilled cheese sandwiches behind in dreamland, I awoke rested after a record 9.5 hours of blissful sleep.  Forgoing the blog for a night in exchange for a 9:30 bedtime was so worth it.  I wouldn’t say I was a bundle of energy, but I had just an even-keel, laid back saunter to my step.  I mosied on over to the scale and realized that I’ve lost 2.5 pounds.  My belly is flatter, my skin is clearer, and I was gleefully awaiting my bowl of instant porridge (batch-prepared on Day 9).  Yes, I was actually looking forward to this.  My husband won’t go near it.  It looks like something you could pave a street with, but to me, it is the perfect consistency, warm and fragrant.  (Added bonus: a couple chia seeds will get stuck in your teeth and score– it’s a snack for later!)  I don’t add any sweetener.  I just eat it as is, relying on just the dried apples and raisins to give that hint of sweetness to meld with the cinnamon flavor.  I actually calculated out the nutrition data for a ½ cup serving of dry porridge.  376 calories, 26g fat, 13g protein, 21 g carbs, 11g sugar is a decent profile from the Paleo perspective.  The porridge certainly has more carbs than eggs do, but the amount is substantially lower than having a bagel or a bowl of granola (or even oatmeal!)  It’s also kind of refreshing to take a little break from consuming animals.  I’m calling it great for fueling a workout and avoiding insulin spikes.

Look, I truly was so excited to eat it that I even forgot to take a picture of it until I was halfway through eating it!

Image

Adding the amazing Jamaican Jerk Chicken and Veggies for lunch, you could say I was well fed.  Aside from a few moments of frustration when my son just would not stop tackling my daughter and then actually broke his time out chair, I still had that refreshed clarity about me as I pulled on my silly knee-high compression socks.  I wasn’t pumped, just cool and composed.  Maybe this is that even energy level the Paleo people talk about happening when you leave the highs and crashes of a high carb diet behind?

We made it to CrossFit for an afternoon WOD.  The strength portion was finding a one rep max for your deadlift.  My old PR was 170 pounds.  I started warming up with 85 pounds and kept adding tens, gradually upping the weight, and, before I knew it, I lifted 200 pounds!  A 30 pound PR?  Maybe there is something to this Paleo thing improving athletic performance.  It couldn’t have just been the socks!

On Mondays I like to have a quick, easy dinner since the kids have swimming lessons very close to the dinner hour.  One of our favorite easy dinners is made with a packaged Indian curry paste to which we add chicken and whatever veggies we have on hand.

http://sukhis.com/products/home-chef/classic-indian-curry-paste.php

Image

We used to have this dish over brown rice, but we don’t miss the rice anymore.  Yes, yes, there’s canola oil in the curry paste, and canola can be a Paleo “gray area” since you want to keep your consumption of Omega-6 fats on the lower end.  But, c’mon, canola oil comes from a seed.  It’s not like it comes from [gasp] a soybean!  And I had a boatload of Omega-3s today with all the hemp and chia seeds, so I’d say my ratio of Omega-3s to Omega-6s today would be good enough to be the poster child’s in a cardiologist’s office.  I’m calling it ok, certainly not “cheating.”

Fast Indian Curry

1 packet of Indian Curry Paste

1 pound boneless skinless chicken thighs

1 tablespoon coconut oil

1 carrot, peeled and chopped

1 bell pepper, membranes removed and chopped

1 onion, chopped

1 cup of butternut squash cubes (great sub potatoes that are often served in traditional curries!)

1 cup water

Melt coconut oil in a skillet over medium heat.  Add chicken thighs. Season with pepper and a tiny bit of salt if you wish.  Brown the chicken for about 3 minutes per side.  Add the curry paste and 1 cup of water.  Stir to thin out and incorporate the paste into the water.  Add the veggies.  Cover and simmer for at least 20 minutes or until the chicken can fall apart into the sauce and make a nice stew.

Image

Satisfying meal.  Satisfying day.  Life is good.  Thank you for reading.

Bring it Day 11.

Leave a Reply

