Day 12 ~ Mindless Snacking

Breakfast was yet again the Instant Porridge in a mug on the go.  This time I kept it off my fancy pants.

During the lunch hour, I had the lovely pleasure of entertaining my aunt who stopped by while she was in town.  My aunt is a pesco-vegetarian, so I kept the lid on the batch-cooked Jamaican Jerk Chicken.  Instead, I decided to pull some ingredients out of the pantry and freezer to throw together a Thai-inspired coconut curry soup with shrimp.  It was sort of a Tom Kha type of thing.

Coconut Curry Soup with Shrimp

1 tablespoon prepared curry paste (I used Thai Kitchen Green Curry paste) http://www.thaikitchen.com/products/sauces-and-pastes/green-curry-paste.aspx

2 cans coconut milk

2 cups water or broth (veggie or chicken would be good)

4 cups fresh spinach

8-12 oz of frozen shrimp (I had a bag of frozen cooked, peeled, tail-on 41/50 on hand for shrimp cocktail, but if you bought shrimp specifically for this, tail off would be nice or shredded chicken would be fine!)

1 teaspoon of each: garlic powder, ground ginger, dried basil, freshly ground pepper, salt

Heat a small stock pot or saucepan to medium heat.  Add the curry paste to the pan and warm the curry paste for 2 minutes, being careful that it doesn’t burn.  Pour ONE can of coconut milk into the pan.  Season with the spices.  Let the coconut milk come to a gentle boil, then turn down the heat to low.  Meanwhile, put the spinach and the other can of coconut milk in a food processor and blend until spinach is completely pureed.  Pour the spinach/coconut milk into the pan and the broth or water and simmer for 10 minutes or so.  Pour in the frozen shrimp and let everything warm up, which will take about 5 minutes.  Serve.

Image

This afternoon, shortly after walking in the door, I found myself standing at a kitchen cabinet mindlessly stuffing dried apples into my mouth.  Somehow, in the absence of chocolate chips, I found the sweetest thing in the cabinet that could be popped into my mouth.  After I thought about why I ended up there in that moment, I realized I was not ready to transition into chore mode.  I guess I need to find some habit or routine for walking in the door.  Maybe put down my stuff, get a glass of water, and a put a set portion of nuts on a plate before clearing the kitchen and starting dinner? Should I be a dork and actually put that on a post-it on the entry door? Ugh, that sounds so self-helpy.  I don’t think I am strong-willed enough to be so disciplined!

Dinner was an experiment.  My husband and I thought we would use the ground bison we found at Costco to make stuffed peppers.  We thought a chili flavor for the meat would be tasty with some grated yams mixed in.   Call it a hodgepodge of North American indigenous cuisine.

Stuffed Bell Peppers with Bison

4 bell peppers, halved, membranes removed, and steamed to al dente

1 pound ground bison

1 onion, chopped

1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped

1 eight ounce can of tomato sauce

1 fourteen ounce of diced tomatoes

1 ½ cups grated yam

2 tablespoons chili powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon oregano

½ teaspoon cumin

Salt

Pepper

Brown the meat over medium high heat.  Turn the heat to medium and add the onion and jalapeno.  Season the meat mixture.  Add the tomatoes and sauce.  Add the grated yam.  Simmer for about 5 minutes.  Scoop meat mixture into the peppers.  Bake for about 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

I liked it.  It was flavorful and cooked well.  The yams were not sweet and kept the meat together.  When my husband asked, “You know what this needs?”  We both simultaneously exclaimed, “Cheese!”

Image

One thought on “Day 12 ~ Mindless Snacking

Leave a Reply

