Day 13 ~ Give Me Some Cheese With That Whine. Really. Please. I Want Cheese.

I thought I had this thing down.  I didn’t think I was supposed to be having severe cravings now that it has been almost 2 weeks, but I just want to EAT– eat and eat and eat until I’m so stuffed I can’t move.  If you could just pass me some cheese and some cookie dough, that would be great.  I am so close to tearing up the house to shovel those chocolate chips that are supposedly hidden somewhere right under my nose.

By some miracle, I didn’t fly off the handle today, but I want to!  I am scowling at my herbal tea and resenting the stupid berries I have here for dessert.  Really, they are beautiful and delicious, and the tea is my absolute favorite.  I even topped it with a scoop of coconut cream.  I’m devoured all of it, but it is not at all what I want.  I want to throw darts at this picture.

Image

I know I said I had an even-keel, cool demeanor, but it just seems more like a blasé (and now I’m realizing perhaps with a streak of hostility.)  I miss energetic me!  I had a normal breakfast and lunch and even some carbalicious plantain chips before CrossFit.  Since yesterday was a rest day, I expected to be more “pumped.” I did the WOD, working up to a decent 115 pound front squat, and completing 80 kettlebell swings @35lbs and 170 lunges (ouch!) but I sure wasn’t excited about it.  I just did it.  And now I feel like Jell-O.  Thanks a lot lunges.  I even had a “dirt” recovery smoothie, followed by a couple scoops of almond butter (right out of the jar– no intention, plate, or portion-control.  Take that!)  I had 2 dates while dinner was cooking.  All of my meals were lovely quality and delicious today.  I had dessert.  I ate more than usual today.  But, I still want to eat!!!  My dear friend who currently does GAPS/Paleo and who also obsesses and worries about food just as I do sent me this hilarious, gasp-for-breath-between-hyperventilating-laughter blog post she discovered.  Is there any way to win?  Really, it sounds like I’m doomed.  I’d better get some perspective and buy-in soon, or this is going to be a long fight of a 2 ½ more weeks.

http://www.nwedible.com/2012/08/tragedy-healthy-eater.html

The Menu Today:

Breakfast- a sliced green onion and 2 slices of diced Canadian bacon fried in a pan with 2 eggs

Some plantain chips

Lunch- Jamaican Jerk Chicken and Veggies

Spoonful of Almond Butter

After WOD Recovery: Dirt Smoothie (3 T hemp protein, 1 cup almond milk, ½ banana, 5 frozen strawberries)

3 more spoonfuls of almond butter

2 dates

Dinner- Turkey Meatloaf with Roasted Brussels Sprouts & Carrots with Bacon

*And don’t roll your eyes about the Brussels sprouts!  They’re good!  They aren’t bitter.  They aren’t mushy.  Granny didn’t boil them for an hour and a half in a pot of water on the stove and then force you to plug your nose and swallow 3 bites before being excused.  THESE Brussels sprouts are the comeback food on the yuppie culinary front!  They are rich, crisp on the outside, creamy on the inside, and each layer envelops the salty, bacony flavor.  Try it!

Meatloaf-

1.25 pounds ground turkey

1 small onion, chopped

1 eight ounce can tomato sauce

1 egg

½ cup almond meal

1 teaspoon oregano

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon fresh ground pepper

Several generous pinches of salt

Mix the above ingredients in a bowl until incorporated.  Pour into a loaf pan.  Turn the formed meat out onto a sheet pan.  Set the loaf pan aside.  Bake the meatloaf in a 400 degree oven for 45-50 minutes.  Serves 4 to 5.

Image

Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Carrots with Bacon-

10 Brussels sprouts, washed, base trimmed, and halved

4 carrots, peeled and sliced into ¼” pieces

1 teaspoon olive oil

1 teaspoon garlic powder

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon pepper

4 strips of uncooked bacon, sliced into ½ inch bits

Toss everything onto a sheet pan.  Bake in a 400 degree oven for 45 minutes.

Image

It should be noted that one of the best parts about this meal is that it uses very few dishes since it is so easy to prepare!  Woohoo!

One thought on “Day 13 ~ Give Me Some Cheese With That Whine. Really. Please. I Want Cheese.

  1. Mmm the Brussels sprouts with bacon bake sounds yummy!!

    So, almost two weeks in and I see u are human!! Thanks for your brutal honesty about your cravings, makes me feel better! As long as I can go without the good stuff in life (read: chocolate, sugar, etc) I never stop wanting it or dreaming about it and frankly don’t believe the people who say they do!! But hopefully just by acknowledging the feelings and even getting angry about them, you maybe feel a little relieved? Especially knowing you are halfway through!! I’m adopting an 80/20 rule–eating clean and GAPS/paleo 80% of the time but not beating myself up for the 20% of ‘other’ foods I eat which are often not horrible either (potatoes, oats, etc). Thanks to you I bought a 3.5 lb bag of Choc chips at Costco!! But I don’t feel bad sprinkling some in the otherwise ‘clean’ grain free protein packed pancakes I make for my family.

    Hang in there Erika–you’ve got this!!

Leave a Reply

