Day 16 ~ Daytona Food Plus Another 8 Hours in the Kitchen

It was a great, productive day, having spent almost all of it in the kitchen.  I tested out yet another pancake recipe for breakfast.  It is the winner so far!  It looked, smelled, cooked, flipped, and tasted like a pancake.  I didn’t even use syrup.  Delish!  I also made a batch of Against All Grain’s Strawberry Shortcake Cupcakes (unfrosted this time for simplicity and for longer storage) just to have around for a sweet snack/dessert.  I tossed together a tray of kale chips, and I cooked a pot of bison chili for dinner.  My son begged me to make chocolate chip cookies with him, and I gave in.  It was a nice bonding time with him, plus I snuck in pumpkin I had leftover from the pancakes into the cookie dough.  At one point, I had my fingers covered in butter and sugar since my son dropped the spoon in the batter, but I didn’t take one lick.  It wasn’t even that hard for me.  I just stayed close to the sink and rinsed off those hands.  I, of course, had to handle chocolate chips, which was more difficult, but they were mini, which is just not as tempting for me as those perfectly-shaped, popable, responsibly-sourced, 51% cacao morsels.  What was I saying?  Oh, right.  I did not eat chocolate chips.  I did stop with my head over the bowl, and inhale deeply though.  Now that doesn’t count, right?  (Insert any number of Bill Clinton jokes.)

My husband grilled carne asada and pollo asada, and also sautéed a bunch of bell peppers, onions, and jalapenos with fajita seasonings to have for our weekday lunches.  Since he partook in watching the Daytona 500 today, he also made a tray of hot wings for the occasion.  We were well fed!  The rest of the day was spent doing the massive amount of dishes!

Breakfast and Winning Pancake Recipe:

Pumpkin Paleo Pancakes by Running to the Kitchen

http://www.runningtothekitchen.com/2012/10/pumpkin-paleo-pancakes-that-actually-taste-good/

Image

Lunch:

Husband’s Paleo Hot Wings

Served with Carrots, Guac, and Kale Chips

Bake chicken wings on a sheet pan in a 425 degree oven for 40 minutes.  Drain the pan halfway through the cooking time and flip the wings over.  When the skin is crispy, remove the wings from the oven.  Toss wings in Frank’s Red Hot.  No need for butter or flour!

See Day 2 for kale chip recipe or click here.

Image

Dinner:

Bison Chili by Fast Paleo

http://fastpaleo.com/bison-sweet-potato-chili/

I ended up using an acorn squash instead of a yam.  (What a chore to peel and cut that thing! But, I discovered my stash of yams had gone bad.) The acorn squash tasted more like a white potato, which I enjoyed.  I was very pleased to get to use my new jar of smoky paprika and the jar of ground chipotle pepper in this recipe.  Very flavorful!

Image

Hubby’s Batch-Cooked Fajitas

Marinated and grilled chicken breasts and skirt steak with olive oil, oregano, cumin, paprika, garlic powder, salt, and pepper.  Sauteed bell pepper and onion with the same seasoning as above.  Roasted jalapenos over open flame.

Image

Leave a Reply

