Day 19 ~ Thank You, Dear Readers

Wow!  I am thrilled to announce that the blog surpassed 500 views today.  I am so flattered to have such loyal readers!  Thank you for your support.  Your encouragement and validation has made this journey fun and motivating.  That you keep coming back to follow this saga has held me accountable.   Thank you!

I’ve got the same old story today.  Again, I’m not feeling energized or pumped.  I went into an afternoon CrossFit workout feeling somewhat sullen.  However, I had a strong workout.  We worked on establishing a heavy 5 rep max for deadlifts.  I did 40 deadlifts, working up to 5 reps at 185 pounds and then knocked out the ladder of cleans and burpees consistently.  I had what it took today, so I must have been adequately fueled.  Maybe I am just misinterpreting what I perceive to be dull, lack of energy for what is actually even-keel mellowness.  I’m finding that eating a bit more—more of the clean, whole foods that is—but being less concerned with the portion control and being more at peace with snacking is leaving me much more satisfied.

Breakfast: 

Fried egg, 2 breakfast sausage links, 1 apple

 

Snack:

Apple Cinnamon Lara Bar

 

Lunch:

1 cup Carne & Pollo Asada, 1 cup Fajita Veggies, ½ avocado

 

After WOD:

Dirt Smoothie: 3 T hemp protein, 1 cup almond milk, ½ banana

 

Snack:

Handful of plantain chips, handful of dried apples, 2 scoops of cashew butter

 

Dinner:

This was the first time trying this recipe.  I thought it was delicious.  It got kid-approved, and it was relatively easy (once I looked up a youtube video on cutting up a whole chicken!)

Cornell Chicken http://m.saveur.com/article/Recipes/Cornell-Chicken

Roasted Asparagus with Bacon

Arrange cleaned/trimmed asparagus on a sheet pan. Drizzle with olive oil.  Sprinkle salt, pepper, garlic powder over top and toss.  Chop 2-3 slices of raw bacon.  Sprinkle bacon over asparagus.  Bake at 400 for 20-25 minutes.

Image

Dessert:

Against All Grain Strawberry Shortcake Cupcake (unfrosted)

Leave a Reply

