Day 20 ~ Fueled By Simplicity

Another quick breakfast of an apple and a fried egg with chopped green onion got me going and out the door this morning.  I was busy and away from food for almost four hours, but I kept my water nearby.  I had worked up an appetite, and I had the batch-cooked fajita meat and veggies again for lunch.  Even after having this meal for the fourth time this week, I was still excited to eat it.  It is good to be excited about what you eat, and it is good to eat food that makes you feel good.  Really, it’s a good thing.  No, I have not been hypnotized.  Yes, I still love cinnamon rolls, and I plan to eat them again.  However, in the moment, healthy food is working for me– nourishing me, fueling me to be more functional in life.  That’s all the raw honesty I have for today.

I knew all day that I would be facing 25 Rx thrusters, a mile run, and 25 more thrusters at CrossFit this afternoon.  Wanting to be ready for the grueling workout, it was easy to stay away from anything that would make me feel sluggish or heavy.  I did take a few bites out on a Banana Larabar right before heading over to CrossFit for a little boost.  That sullen feeling from earlier in the week was replaced by a slight nervousness.  Again, when I showed up I was not “pumped” per se, but today I had a little adrenaline going on, felt adequately fueled, and got it done.   And I’m really glad it’s done.

I had a recovery smoothie with my hemp protein and ate the other half of the Larabar.  The rest of the afternoon was a blur.  My daughter had a performance this evening, so quickly executing dinner was of utmost importance.  I had planned ahead when grocery shopping last weekend for tonight’s very simple meal.  It is truly ready in 15 minutes, including prep and cook time.

Sauteed Cabbage with Sausage

Slice a head of cabbage and one onion while heating two tablespoons of bacon grease in a stockpot over medium high heat (could substitute olive oil, ghee, Kerrygold butter.)  Add the cabbage and onion to the pot.  Season generously with salt, pepper, garlic powder, dried thyme.  Turn the heat down to medium and toss and turn the cabbage so it is coated in the grease and seasonings.  Put a lid over the pot, but leave the lid “cracked/venting.”  Slice 4 prepared sausage links such as Aidells Chicken and Apple Sausage http://www.aidells.com/product/22 and toss the sausage slices in and stir into the cabbage.  Replace the “cracked” lid.  Heat 5 minutes until the sausage is hot and the cabbage is soft.  Yum, yum, yum!

Image

We ate super early, so just a little while ago (four hours after dinner), I stuffed myself with a bunch of pistachios (like 40!) and a handful of dried apples, but it’s all good.  I meant to do that.  Well, maybe a pistachio binge wasn’t exactly in the plan for today, but I have realized that I don’t do well if I go to bed hungry.  Call it a coping skill.

Leave a Reply

