Day 27 ~ Open Workout 13.1 Menu

I awoke with a perfect cocktail of anxiety and excitement.  Today was the day I would be doing my very first CrossFit Open workout.  The first workout of the 2013 CrossFit Open was released yesterday, and I was hoping to try it out and get as far as I could today.  A calming, fueling breakfast was in order—one that had been tried and true to be settling to the stomach.  I decided on 2 fried eggs with sautéed bell pepper and onion and an apple.  Then, I got to work teaching my web-classes, which was a nice way to be distracted.  I made sure that I had consumed a liter of water before noon, and then I had a coconut Larabar since my stomach was gurgling with hunger.  The drive to CrossFit was a total blur while I went through my vision of meeting my goal of completing 105 reps of the workout.

Open Workout 13.1

17 minute AMRAP of:
40 Burpees
30 Snatch, @45 lbs
30 Burpees
30 Snatch, @ 75 lbs
20 Burpees
30 Snatch, @100 lbs
10 burpees
Max rep Snatch, @120 lbs

After those grueling 17 minutes were up, I completed 126 reps, which means I completed 40 burpees, the 30 snatches at 45 pounds, 30 burpees, and 26 snatches at 75 pounds.  I am still in shock that I did those 75 pounders. I’ve never snatched 75 pounds before, and I somehow did 26 of them today.

I refueled by splitting an AMRAP bar with my husband.  (We had a CrossFit Open “date.”)  Then, I had a Chicken BLTA at home for a very late lunch, and I had to get back to work.

Dinner was already prepared since I had started it yesterday and just had not eaten it since I let it simmer until 8:30pm!  This afternoon, I put the pot of goulash on the stove to heat up, quickly chopped up a bunch of carrots and half a red onion, tossed them in olive oil, garlic powder, thyme, S&P, and threw them in the oven to roast at 400 for 35 minutes.  YUM!  YUM! YUM!  The goulash was terrific.  The meat was tender, the sauce fragrant, comforting, and rich.  I had always thought that goulash contained tomato paste or something, but that deep brick red comes solely from paprika!  It is such a simple, pure dish.  Here is the recipe I used.

http://www.leannabodybyvi.com/2013/02/czech-goulash/

Image

My big reward for celebrating the successful day was spending time in the kitchen to make this:

http://deliciouslyella.com/2012/10/01/double-chocolate-cheesecake-brownies-gluten-free-dairy-free-sugar-free/

Don’t the pictures look incredible?  I mean, anything called Double Chocolate Cheesecake Brownie has to be insanely delicious, right?  And I know the recipe is Paleo-friendly, so I was fully aware it wouldn’t actually contain any cheese or flour, but it does call for a lot of dates.  That’s a huge score in my book! The gorgeous and endearing British doll hooked me in with her references to dessert spoons as units of measurement and calling the date pits “stones.” I was wishing I was one of her aforementioned “flat mates” as I anticipated devouring the finished product.  I felt so cultured carrying out the recipe and imagined myself wearing a crisp, white apron while fluidly, whisking myself around the kitchen.

While the act of carefully putting ingredients together was a rewarding reprieve, the fantasy ended there.  You know what they say about British food, right?  What I had made here was basically bland guacamole on a dusty, sugarless tootsie roll.  I had even doubled the honey/maple syrup combo that I subbed for the agave after tasting the stuff in the “batter” stage, and the end result was still not sweet.  Don’t get me wrong, the bottom layer was chock full of fresh dates and beautiful raw organic hazelnuts (I used a cup of hazelnuts, ½ cup pecans instead of all pecans), but c’mon, it was not a brownie!  The top layer turned out to be a lovely custard-like texture, but it tasted overwhelmingly avocadoey.  And why wouldn’t it?  There were FIVE avocadoes in it!!!  Pure and wholesome?  Ok.  Brownie?  Absolutely not.  Cheesecake?  You’ve got to be kidding me.  If I make Paleo brownies again, I will stick with the recipe by Preparing Paleo.  I can attest that it is scrumptious.  Paleo or not, it looks like a brownie, tastes like a brownie, and has the texture of a brownie.  http://preparingitpaleo.com/2012/10/03/paleo-plantain-brownies/

Now what became of the absolutely-not-cheesecake-not-remotely-close-to-a-brownie thing I made?  No surprise, I still ate it.  I even had seconds.  What?  You know I like dates, and Avocado Larabars could catch on.

Image

Leave a Reply

