Day 28 ~ Migraine

The day started out just fine.  I was pleased to have pulled off whipping up a double batch of baked pancake puffs for the whole family, and everyone made it out the door on time.  The recipe I made this morning was from Detoxinista, and the finished products are quite tasty and very convenient.  I still think the Running in the Kitchen recipe is the most delicious and pancake-like:

http://www.runningtothekitchen.com/2012/10/pumpkin-paleo-pancakes-that-actually-taste-good/ 

However, not having to flip the baked ones by Detoxinista and having them all ready at once was certainly worth it for a weekday breakfast! 

Pumpkin Pancakes by Detoxinista

http://detoxinista.com/2012/09/grain-free-pumpkin-pancakes/

Image

 

Lunch was a turkey burger with bacon, avocado, tomato and wrapped in romaine.  Then, I overdid it on the avocado tootsie roll crud.  Sabotage!  About an hour after I repeatedly cut and ate slivers and ate them right off of the spatula until half the pan was gone, I started to get a headache.  Another hour later, and I had a full-blown, nauseating, eyeball aching migraine.  I haven’t had one of those in a LONG time.  I even went to bed in the middle of the afternoon, but once I closed my eyes for five minutes, my phone rang.  I had a 12 minute conversation with my supervisor (while lying in bed!) and then sprang into productive scrambling for 45 minutes before leaving to pick up my son. 

Thankfully we had enough leftover goulash to have for dinner tonight.  I moped around the house, realizing that I brought this on myself by carelessly over-sugaring myself.  Yes, that can easily be done with dates!  Plus, I am thinking that I overlooked that the cacao has caffeine, and I just can’t handle caffeine.  I was up late last night kind of wired, and then got another fix with the lunch binge.  Yuck!  I will remember this awful feeling for a long time.  I popped an Advil and have been chugging water.  Here I am, two hours later, finally starting to feel a little better, but I’m going to have to forgive myself and sleep this off. 

Leave a Reply

